23-308 New Commissioners commence at ASIC

ASIC Chair Joe Longo has welcomed the commencement of new Commissioners Simone Constant and Alan Kirkland, who began their five-year terms today.

In August the Treasurer announced the appointment of three new Commissioners to ASIC to serve alongside Mr Longo, Deputy Chair Sarah Court and Deputy Chair Karen Chester, noting Ms Chester’s term ends in January 2024.

Ms Kate O’Rourke commenced her term in September 2023.

Mr Longo said: ‘The work of ASIC is fundamental to Australia having a strong and secure financial system that works in the best interests of all market participants and is well regarded globally.

‘Simone, Alan and Kate each bring deep experience to ASIC that will support the organisation to deliver on its strategic priorities, and importantly ensure we maintain a strong focus on consumer protection amid the mounting cost of living pressures Australians are facing.’

The initial regulatory focus of Ms Constant will be on markets and superannuation, Mr Kirkland on insurance, credit and financial advisers and investment management and Ms O’Rourke on banking and payments, audit, insolvency and registers.

ASIC media releases are point-in-time statements. Please note the date of issue and use the internal search function on the site to check for other media releases on the same or related matters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *